April 4, 2010

Holy meet Blood

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:15 pm by Aduial of WrA

A couple days ago I was up a bit later than usual when one of my friends in my hunter’s guild couldn’t sleep and asked if I wanted to do a random with him on his DK tank so he could get his frost badges. I wasn’t quite up to tanking and I erroneously thought he was frost, so didn’t figure my healing gear was up to par, so I tagged along on my hunter. We ended up in Nexus, which usually isn’t a problem… Except that he’s a blood tank, and I guess something our poor little priest healer had never seen.

The priest is going around healing everything, and about a pull before the mage boss he’s OOM, at which point my friend says don’t worry about healing him, just heal the others. He seems to laugh it off but we continue, make it close to the rock boss when the pally DPS bites the dust, and we finish the pull we were on then the DK pulls a mob that would’ve pulled on its own anyway so we can kill it while the priest rezzes, and he makes a comment about needing to rez “or do we not need DPS either.” So apparently he’s taken offense or something at not needing to heal the tank himself, my friend apologizes, and we think everything’s okay, until we’re pulling the boss himself.

The priest is going around healing everything, and about a pull before the mage boss he’s OOM, at which point my friend says don’t worry about healing him, just heal the others. He seems to laugh it off but we continue, make it close to the rock boss when the pally DPS bites the dust, and we finish the pull we were on then the DK pulls a mob that would’ve pulled on its own anyway so we can kill it while the priest rezzes, and he makes a comment about needing to rez “or do we not need DPS either.” So apparently he’s taken offense or something at not needing to heal the tank himself, my friend apologizes, and we think everything’s okay, until we’re pulling the boss himself.

Is that a ... What?

Is that a hack in your pocket or are you just unhappy to see me?

The priest, for whatever reason, thinks my friend is either hacking or using a GM tool. We tell him my friend’s blood specced, friend even links one of his self-healing abilities, and that’s the last we hear of it. …Almost.

We finish the instance and start saying our thank-you-and-goodbyes, my friend leaves first and I’m about to when the priest pops off again, “he was hacking.” I actually stop to discuss this, as does the retadin. “No.. He self-healed. Blood spec.”

“I swear!”

“No.”

“I didn’t heal him at all.”

“I can guarantee you. He was not. It’s a class ability.

Just when it seemed the priest and I were alone in this debate, the paladin speaks up, “It’s in the spec.” To which I add, “combined with gear.”

The priest retorts in a manner akin to those crazy people on the curb screaming the end is upon us, “He was hacking, I swear!”

To which the paladin who may have more patience than I says, “Blood spec is all about self-heals.”

This debate continues on for a few minutes before the priest concludes, he’s reporting my friend, and leaves. The paladin comments I’ll get used to scenes like that… Unfortunately I’m starting to not doubt that he’s right, or at least that they’ll happen frequently enough that most people would get used to it. I’m not sure that I can. I have relief dependent on the fact that a GM will look back through the logs and shrug the complaint off since my friend was completely on the level, but I don’t see why it should come to that.

Leave a Reply

