June 28, 2010

And now for something totally different

Posted in Uncategorized at 5:00 pm by Aduial of WrA

In large parts thanks to Alas, I am also jumping on the bandwagon that she ran me over with (I didn’t even know these questions were floating around before I saw them on her blog…) and going to answer them because they certainly seem nifty.

1. Raider, farmer, PvPer, or altoholic?

I slip in and out of pretty much all of them at different times, depending on several things. Right now I’m more… farmer, going on raider, I guess, since I’m still working on making sure the guild bank is plenty stocked for when we start raiding next week. And roaming around Wintergrasp collecting ore is still one of my favorite pastimes when I’m feeling sort of down; though when I’m frustrated or upset I still often switch over to Adu and queue up for some BGs. I’ve probably been an altoholic most, though, with having… 14 characters on Wyrmrest Accord between two accounts alone, not to mention about 20 others scattered across different realms. Only have the 3 80s, though.

2. Favorite raid or dungeon?

Ah, this would depend on which expansion, mostly. From classic I still love Blackrock Depths, and is probably still my favorite instance. From BC it’s a raid–Kara. Granted, I’ve never seen any BC raids that went beyond Karazhan, but I doubt they’d top it; I’ve gone in there as heals, tank, and ranged DPS now and loved the fights on every one. Plus the whole environment period is wonderful to me; I’m one of those that would wander around until our lock expired even after we cleared it. From Wrath… Would have to be Ulduar. I’ve yet to be a part of a full clear unfortunately (hoping to change that soon though, yay), but I still love each fight I’ve done in there, and the mechanics remind me of why I love Kara and BRD in large part. You can’t just wander in there and expect to faceroll it or you will die; instead, you have to think and actually play, no matter your level or gear (at least in my experience).

3. Number one choice for a new playable race?

Hmm… Centaurs and/or dryads, I suppose. I think the mechanics that could go into making either playable and appealing could be really neat. And hey, could forgo mounts for’em altogether, just buy horseshoes or something that make you run faster naturally instead of learning to ride faster.

4. Class you suck the most at?

Melee DPS, hands down. I’ve messed around on my druid in kitty form and while it’s fun… I just suck at situational awareness as DPS. I do fine as a tank, but having to place my character behind a mob that the tank can turn at anytime, and having to watch my DPS more… especially on classes that can’t drop aggro… Well, it’s tough for me. It also really sucks on bosses which certain models or colorations because they can be hard for me to see or tell what’s back and what’s front, and a melee DPS in front is just wrong.

5. Original UI or modded UI?

Oh, geez, modded to all hell. I have a screenshot of my UI a few posts back, though it’s changed a bit since, if anyone’s curious. Though of course there’s a lot that’s more hidden.. Like my chat programs that make a sound on new messages and such. The default UI is really hard for me to see because I have significant vision problems, so I’ve modded it to work around that and work for me (it’s actually improved a lot since I started, and pre-mouse I actually had very little screen real estate to accomodate.)

6. Profession you’ve never leveled past 200?

Inscription. I almost did on my druid on my second account, but then I realized–That account only has Vanilla, so I can’t even take full advantage of having the craft, so I sort of gave up. I’ve taken it up on my new babymage, so hopefully I’ll have it covered soon enough, too.

7. Favorite flying mount?

Eh… Not sure. I’ll admit I haven’t exactly gotten to see a lot of them since I refuse to buy epic flying on principle, so I’m pretty much stuck with wind riders. Though, I am rather fond of the things…

8. Nozdormu — friend or foe, you figure?

Hummm… Friend, I’d wager, out of the two.

9. Useless item you have in your bank that you’ll never get rid of?

Ha.. I actually have some of those “sickly fish” in Mani’s bank. Back when her and Ith’s warlock, Kaedran, were much newer, they were best friends in character (yes, we RP’d them), and I sort of talked him into leveling fishing and cooking with me, so we were out on the dock in Silverpine on the lake, fishing… And I kept fishing up sickly fish while he kept fishing up skulls. Both actually fit the characters very well, especially the fish for Mani since she’s a healer in character as well, and we ended up keeping the fish and skulls, saying they’d be in their homes IC. I don’t know what Kae ended up doing with his skulls, but the fish are still in Mani’s bank and although the original idea will likely never happen, I can’t see myself getting rid of them.

10. Most expensive thing you’ve ever bought?

Oh, geez, uh… Single item? I can’t really say. Though I’ve bought out whole markets before and spent a few thousand gold doing so in the past back when WrA was a lot younger and said markets needed help stabilizing. I think probably single item though, if it even counts, would be guild bank tabs; not all by myself but a large chunk of the gold that went into buying them was my own, and TL’s primary bank has six tabs, and that sixth was a doozy, and 4 tabs in the secondary bank…

11. Favorite starting area?

The Night Elf starting area. My first character, Aduial, was originally a Night Elf, so that’s where it all started for me, and I still have a lot of fond memories there. Though, for me it’s not as fun since they nerfed it…

12. Inane goal you worked hardest to achieve?

Trying to reach gold cap, probably. I sort of slack off on it a lot but it’s a constant goal and I usually keep it in mind whenever I deal with gold. Granted I’ll likely never reach it, since I’ll work hard until I have about 10k, then either relax and sit on that, or give chunks to friends or guildies or whatever, basically wherever it’s needed.

13. Darion Mograine VS Tirion Fordring, gloves off — winner is?

Don’t know but I’d love to watch.

14. Game music or your own playlist?

If I’m listening to music, then my own. I’ve mentioned before I have vision problems, so in large part I play by sound, and the game music kind of screws with that. I have everything set at a specific volume so I can pick sounds apart easily, with WoW being at 10-20% volume depending on what I’m doing, and any music I have on at 2-5%. It’s a bit harder for me to change WoW’s music volume alone on the fly, and in my experience some of the sounds often blend in with the music, which doesn’t work so well for me.

15. Particular option or setting that you always toggle on a new alt/server?

Equipment manager.

16. Highest amount of levels gained in one play session?

And boy did I hate myself for staying up that long afterwards, insomnia or no.

17. Thing you’d most like to experience or see in-game?

Tattered Legends thriving again.

18. Worst PuG moment?

I was on my paladin and was tanking heroic Halls of Reckoning for the first time, or… trying to. I was in there with Ithraen who at the time was specced ret, and Emere was healing on his shaman. The DPS was horrible aside from Ith, and by far not enough to finish the dungeon, and Ith was sort of messing around and basically making tanking the place hell, but I was doing the best I could. We lost one DPS at one point only to be replaced with another horrible one, and a few pulls later we wiped, then I found myself no longer partied and no longer in the dungeon. Apparently one of the DPS voted to kick me and Emere automatically clicked yes when he saw the box, and I got kicked out of a dungeon by one of my best and longest friends. The kicker? Right after in guild, “wtf? why’d you leave?” from him. “I didn’t. I was kicked.” “… oh shit.”

19. Best dungeon/raid moment?

Oh, man, there’s a lot of good ones. Hmm let’s see.. There was the Naxx run where we almost got ourselves titles even though more than half our group were fresh recruits and/or PUGees, then there’s the Ony run I posted about a while back where I ended up tanking more than I should’ve had to and somehow.. doing it.. until my healer screwed up, several of the old Uld runs with TL, or that time in Naxx where a piece dropped and was an upgrade for like 4 people who were all going “Nah it’s a better upgrade for you, you take it”… Though I think the memory that’s stuck with me the most that I’m most fond of, though only loosely a dungeon/raid moment, was back when I was OTing Naxx on my warrior and had some little dinky low-70 green  “of the Champion” bow, and couldn’t get rid of it without going under 540 defense, and Ith noticed not long before a raid time, and within half an hour the guild had scrounged up the mats for an ilvl200 epic gun that one of the guild engineers proceeded to make. I actually ended up crying over that because, well, it’s really something else to see something you’ve sacrificed so much for, worked so hard to build, come together so perfectly for you when you needed when you never asked for anything like that in turn, everyone working so well together to try to help the guild, making small sacrifices themselves… I’m not even sure how to describe it, but I had a shiny new gun in time for that night’s Naxx, and I never could’ve been more proud.

20. Worst quest ever that you totally hate doing?

That one in Hellfire Peninsula that the goblin gives you, where he lost his shredder keys and one of the felhounds ate it, and you have to dig through their poop to find them.

21. First thing you do when you hit 80?

Hit the AH for upgrades and do whatever regular dungeons I need to do to be able to grind out heroics for.. er, well, more gear.

22. Character (of yours) you would RP as if you had to?

Amaniel, Aduial, Kas, Vilanaiel, Uruvion, Dessuithiel… I dunno, I RP a lot of my toons anyway, so probably most of them.

23. Keyboard, mouse, or both for using abilities?

Mostly both, now. Before I got my mouse I had just about everything keybound so used my keyboard for pretty much everything, but I do click a decent chunk now, too.

24. Thottbot or WoWhead?

Wowhead all the way. ❤

25. Acronym you’ve seen in chat but don’t understand?

Um… Not sure there’s any, at this point.In fact I’m usually the one using acronyms others don’t really understand until they ask.

26. Plot point you’d like to see resolved someday?

Hrm… Not sure. All of them? 😛

27. Biggest thing you’re looking forward to in Cataclysm?

Having to play smart instead of just facerolling your way through things again.

28. Guild event you’d like to see?

Hrm… Probably BG nights, I guess. Or like… Well, at one point I had my hunter in a friend’s PvP guild, Red Dawn, and every (other?) weekend or so we’d go ‘raid’ the Alliance’s cities. It wasn’t a For the Horde raid or anything, we’d just take our little group and run around in cities like some odd sort of pranksters, or something, having a blast with no real goal but to have fun. These were the events I enjoyed most in that guild and I always had an absolute blast, and I know something like that would likely never happen in TL since we’re a raiding guild, but I’d love to go on one more Shenanigans night.

29. Level range you hate being in?

Believe it or not? 80. I can find something fun to do and enjoy in just about every range, but I actually really like the leveling process, so being 80 is kind of a letdown for me, despite having plenty to do.

30. Favorite map to quest in?

I’m… not really sure I have one, actually. I never was the biggest quester in the world so I’ve missed a lot of quests, and can’t really think of one I liked questing in more than anywhere else.

Leave a Reply

